Series: Chattan Curse

The Devil’s Heart (Chattan Curse #3) by Cathy Maxwell

Posted on 04/11/2013 in Book Review / 3 Comments

The Devil’s Heart (Chattan Curse #3) by Cathy MaxwellThe Devil's Heart by Cathy Maxwell
Series: Chattan Curse #3
Published by Avon Books on 4/30/2013
Genres: Adult, Paranormal Fiction, Romance
Pages: 384
Format: Paperback
Source: Publisher
Buy on Amazon

They call her the Unattainable. Lady Margaret Chattan spurned every suitor for her hand, vowing never to marry. The only way to break the curse plaguing her family for two centuries is this ultimate sacrifice. But now her brothers' lives are in danger. Determined to save them, she risks her very soul by traveling into the heart of the highlands to battle a force that has transcended time.


Heath Macnachtan is not superstitious. Laird of the most independent, nonconforming, madly infuriating clan ever to grace Scotland, he believes he has his hands full. And then, a woman lauded as one of the most beautiful in England, arrives on his doorstep with wild accusations and a mystical quest . . . one that just might help him discover who murdered his own brother.


But the real danger for Heath and Margaret is not a supernatural foe, but a very real love that could destroy them both.


What I’m a little excited about this? Ok so I’m a little biased, as I’m very, very, very much in love with this series and this author. I was so excited that this last book is finally coming out I almost didn’t want to read it.

Why would I not want to read it you ask? If I didn’t read it, then the series wouldn’t ever have to be over. Not reading it is the equivalent of putting your fingers in your ears.

La la la la, I can’t hear you! Nope not going to listen…er read… then it will forever be going on in my head. So dear readers, I did bite the bullet and read it. How else would you know if this one was worth reading or if you should just be an ostrich with your head in the sand and pretend that this series isn’t ever going to end.

I loved this one as much as I loved the other two.

This one picks right up where the last one left off. Everyone feels that since Margaret is the first of her kind, a daughter of a Chattan, that she will be the one to break the curse. So with her brothers dying she heads deep into the highlands to where it all started, Loch Awe.  It is here that Rose dove to her death and Fenella set the curse upon the Chattan line.  It is here that everyone thinks that the curse can be broken.

After a horrific carriage crash she is found for Heath Macnachtan, the Laird of the Macnachtan lands. He immediately recognizes the unconscious Margaret having seen her many years ago on a London street. She is taken into his home and from here the story really takes off. It is obvious that she and Heath will be the ones to break the curse. I mean with him being the last male of his line and her the first of hers you know this is inevitable. How they go about everything that will surprise you.

Since for some reason I really like the kitty,  Owl does make another appearance in this book, and you finally find out who she is! This was something that I had been speculating since the last book. I guessed correctly, will you?

As always there are lots of little twists and turns that make this a quick and exciting read. I will say though that this one seemed way shorter than the other two in the series even though they are all about the same length. I think this was more my wanting more information about certain parts. It seemed like what they do when they truncate a book for a movie. You get the gist of what is going on but a little more backstory is preferable to understand everything.

Now that I have finished this series I will say that I’m sad that there are no more Chattan books to be had. I loved this series and can only hope that her new series will be just as good!

This book was provided to me by the publisher in exchange of an honest review. If you purchase through the link provided, we do receive a small, monetary compensation that helps fund this blog.

Tags: , ,