ARC Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Posted on 03/16/2015 in Book Review / 11 Comments

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. MaasA Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas
Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses #1
Published by Bloomsbury Children's on May 5, 2015
Genres: Adult, Fantasy, New Adult, Romance
Pages: 416
Format: ARC
Source: Publisher
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.\r\n\r\nWhen nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.\r\n\r\nAs she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.\r\n\r\nPerfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

Beauty & the Beast is perhaps my favorite Disney movie, because it taught me that appearances and legends are sometimes deceiving, and to look beyond the cover. A Court of Thorns and Roses is my book Beauty & the Beast. Being pitched as similar to the movie, with lots and lots of fantasy twists, faeries and magic, it is EPIC. Truly, Maas has surpassed herself, because while I love the Throne of Glass series, I love A Court of Thorns and Roses even more.  SO MUCH MORE.  

The Setting

Maas is a skilled world-builder.  There are seven faerie kingdoms and then the human “kingdom”.  She gives us the backstory on how this divide happens, but doesn’t give up the farm right in the beginning.  In fact, you have to wait awhile to find out everything, as she doles out tidbits through conversations and history.  She spends a lot of time with our lead character, Feyre, describing the lush and beautiful Spring Kingdom, and the desolation of her family’s small border town.  I felt like I could step into the pages of the book and be transported to a real world.

The Characters

The story is told from the point of view of Feyre, a human girl who is just over the cusp of adulthood.  Feyre is the sole caretaker in her family, since her mother died and her father nor older sisters have done anything to make sure they survive.   She’s brash, she’s brave and she’s got a big mouth, but you love her for it, because she’s always honest and doesn’t play games.  She has flaws – lots of them, really – but she’s self-aware and I think that’s why she is so charming, even when she’s being a donkey. I can haz a Tamlin nao?  Seriously, I have been looking for a new book boyfriend!  OMG he reminds me so much of Beast, with his claws, his temper and his kindness.  He makes me want to spin in a field and sing!  One part brute and the other part lover, there is no way you don’t adore him.  I mean, he takes her places and shows her things.  He does stuff.  I’m trying not to spoil here, bare with me! In short, A Court of Thorns and Roses In the beginning, I HATED Lucien.  I thought he was an arrogant, close-minded ass.  But as the story progressed, and I learned his history, my heart ached for him.  So noble and loyal and – well, let’s just say that Maas makes me love him in the end. Rhysand is an enigma.  When we first meet him, I didn’t know what to think.  On one hand, he seemed dangerous, but on the other, I felt like there was more to him than what he was presenting.  As we go into book two, I am eager to see if I’m right.  And I have my suspicions on who he might end up with:

Spoiler title
. Incidentally, this is how I pictured Rhys (plus a gratuitous Ian Somerhalder gif): A Court of Thorns and Roses

The Plot

I kind of see A Court of Thorns and Roses as having multiple plots.  But the big one: there is a nefarious villain who is determined to rule the world.  Only one person can stop it, and it involves curses, magic, faeries on all sides, and tasks to get to a happily ever after, if there is one.  Maas makes sure to give you time to love Feyre and Tamlin before diving in and tearin’ it all up.  

In Summary

Action, adventure, romance, challenges… A Court of Thorns and Roses has it all.  It is damn good story-telling. A Court of Thorns and Roses  

 Quote

I was as unburdened as a piece of dandelion fluff, and he was the wind that stirred me about the world.

*Thank you to Bloomsbury for my review copy. 

 

Check out Sarah J. Maas’ video about ACOTAR.

five-stars
The following two tabs change content below.
Jennifer became addicted to books when she randomly picked up a Sweet Valley High book in grade school. She never looked back. After blowing through the SVH and SVU series faster than her parents could put them in her hands, she began perusing her stepfather's bookshelves and reading fantasy like Piers Anthony's Incarnations of Immortality series, which she still maintains is some of the best fantasy ever. She collects books like the Duggar family collects kids and began waiting for her Hogwarts letter at the tender age of 33.

Latest posts by Jennifer @ BookShelfery (see all)

Tags: , ,

Subscribe to our mailing list

Don't miss a thing! Subscribe to our email newsletter and be notified when we post something new.

* Required field

11 responses to “ARC Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Leave a Reply