Book Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Posted on 06/24/2015 in Book Review / 4 Comments

Book Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. MaasA Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas
Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses #1
Published by Bloomsbury Children's on May 5, 2015
Genres: Adult, Fantasy, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 416
Source: Library
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.\r\n\r\nAs she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.\r\n\r\nPerfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

I had heard so much about this book before it came out that I had extremely high expectations. And then Jennifer reviewed it a few months ago, and raised them even further.  I knew I needed to get my hands on this book! After reading it, it’s safe to say that my expectations were blown away – this one definitely lived up to the hype!  And even though I agree wholeheartedly with everything she said in her review, I just had to write one of my own. Because this book is amazing, and it deserves all the reviews.   I wasn’t sure what to expect with the set up: a retelling of Beauty and the Beast blended with faeries. I hadn’t previously read any books by this author (although, apparently now I need to go read the Throne of Glass series!). I was immediately swept up into this world of magic, and I liked that it wasn’t a PG-rated chaste fairytale. This was a gritty, violent, sexy story. And the characters! I adored the characters. Feyre reminded me more of a Katniss/Cinderella combo than of Belle, and I liked that she wasn’t wide-eyed and innocent. She wasn’t afraid to push the limits, or put herself in danger (and she does both quite frequently). Tamlin…this “beast” was definitely swoon-worthy.  I loved everything about him, but I also found his BFF Lucien to be just as interesting of a character. I immediately saw through his sarcasm and brusque manner, and I liked him a lot. And Rhysand…helloooooo! Who doesn’t like a bad boy? This storyline is bound to get interesting in the next book!   The world-building and structure of the kingdoms was really fascinating. We spend most of the book in the beautiful Spring Kingdom, but I hope that we get to learn more of the others in later installments. And I’m hoping for more of the creepy creatures that we got to meet in this one, because they added such vivid detail, especially in contrast to all of the beauty of the kingdom. I also liked that there were a couple of nods to Beauty & the Beast that were completely given a new spin.   A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sara J. Maas completely swept me away. From the first moment we meet the characters to the action-packed and danger-filled chapters that kept me on the edge of my seat – I loved every minute of this one! This is definitely a book that I would read again, and I will be counting the days until the next one is released.

The following two tabs change content below.
Jessica’s addiction to books began at age 4, going on weekly trips to the library with her mom. After being a young fan of Sweet Valley High and The Baby-Sitters Club, she discovered the thrill of reading a book that made her want to leave the light on and check under the bed. Her all-time favorite author is Stephen King, but she will read just about anything! Jessica never leaves home without her e-reader, and considers it the best gift she ever received. Her other hobbies include running and going to Disney World as often as possible.

Tags:

Subscribe to our mailing list

Don't miss a thing! Subscribe to our email newsletter and be notified when we post something new.

* Required field

4 responses to “Book Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Leave a Reply