Audiobook Review: Seeker by Arwen Elys Dayton (Seeker, #1)

Posted on 04/06/2015 in Book Review / 5 Comments

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Audiobook Review: Seeker by Arwen Elys Dayton (Seeker, #1)Seeker by Arwen Elys Dayton
Published by Listening Library on February 10, 2015
Genres: Adventure, Fantasy, Paranormal Fiction, Science-fiction, Young Adult
Pages: 448
Format: Audiobook
Source: Publisher
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
half-star

Quin Kincaid has been put through years of brutal training for what she thinks is the noble purpose of becoming a revered “Seeker”.  Only when it’s too late does she discover she will be using her new-found knowledge and training to become an assassin.  Quin’s new role will take her around the globe, from a remote estate in Scotland to a bustling, futuristic Hong Kong where the past she thought she had escaped will finally catch up with her.  ~ goodreads

*cough, cough*  Hey Everyone!!  I have been away for a bit (sheepish grin).  I had “issues” come up in my life that needed to be fixed.  I quit my job in Chicago, sold my part of the house and moved to the DC area.   It took me a bit to find a job, but I am all settled now.  I am a stone’s throw away from Jenn and annoy her every chance I get.  I have a new place, new job, new man and best of all me (the way I want to be).  It is time for me to get Me back and start doing the things I enjoy doing for me.  One of those things is reading.  The sad part is that my first review after being absent so long is not a good review.  I was duped again by a pretty cover and choked my way through this book like it was  lima beans or peas. I did not like this book. I tried (I tried really hard) to put this book down 4 times.  I complained about the book to Jenn, she told me to DNF the book several times (cringe, if I can make it through the Fallen series I can make it through almost anything).  I even went as far as letting all my book friends know not to pick this book up, it’s not worth their time (and that was after only 24 pages).  I kept hoping and hoping that the book would save itself.   You should have seen my face when I realized when the book was close to ending, that nothing was getting solved, I was still confused as to what the Hades was going on, and that the book was a never-ending series of starting something with no intention of finishing it and it is book one of a series. Squinty Eye Face from Futurama The synopsis I read on the book cover flap is not the book I read.   See, I read the book and then went to goodreads.  The synopsis on goodreads describes the book a little better (not much better but it is more accurate than the book cover flap) and if I would have read goodreads synopsis FIRST, I never would have read the book.  It really bothered me that the book cover flap gave me a certain impression of the book and the author didn’t fulfill that description.  It was a major letdown.  Here is the synopsis from the book cover flap:

The night Quin Kincaid takes her Oath, she will become what she has trained to be her entire life. She will become a Seeker. This is her legacy, and it is an honor.  As a Seeker, Quin will fight beside her two closest companions, Shinobu and John, to protect the weak and the wronged. Together they will stand for light in a shadowy world.  And she’ll be with the boy she loves–who’s also her best friend. But the night Quin takes her Oath, everything changes.  Being a Seeker is not what she thought. Her family is not what she thought. Even the boy she loves is not who she thought. And now it’s too late to walk away.

 Also if you go to the author’s web page the marketing of the book is totally off-kilter .

Fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent will love Seeker by Arwen Elys Dayton”. ~ Teen Vogue “A tightly-woven, action-packed story of survival and adventure, Seeker is perfect for fans of Game of Thrones.” ~ Tahereh Mafi, author of NYTimes Bestselling Shatter Me series

What book did THEY READ because that is not the book I got!!!  This book is nothing, NOTHING like The Hunger Games, Divergent or Game of Thrones.  I’m highly offended that people are trying to compare it to them.  NO WAY!  If I had read this book first and then seen THG, Divergent and GOT as recommendations, I never would have read them.  I would have thought they would be as terrible as this book. What genre of book is this?  Goodreads labels this as Fantasy.  Barnes and Noble labels this as Teen Fiction (which is totally different then Teen Fantasy).  If you read through some of the reviews from various sites, the book genre ranges from Sci-Fi,  YA Fantasy, Young Adult, Fiction, Romance and even Dystopian.   It is all over the board!  I was duped into thinking it was a fantasy book set in the 15-16 century.  I was wrong!  The best description for this book is Teen Fiction. UMM No from the Movie Office Space There is no sense of time.  Jenn had asked why I was so hung up on time.  Was it really a big deal to me that you don’t know when the story takes place?  I hesitated before I answered.  I saw the logic in her words, but . . . Yes, yes it bothers me that we never know the day, month or year of the story.  When one of your main characters is “Anomalies” and “Time Travel”, I really do think you should know this information!   It is part of the character.  And I do believe it is a character of a sort. OOHHHHHH the plot holes!!  Like I said in the beginning, this book is wonderful at starting something and then diverting your attention elsewhere leaving you hanging and NEVER COMING BACK TO IT TO CLOSE IT OUT (GGGGGRRRRRRR).  Example: the book title is called Seeker.  The book never tells you what a Seeker is.  You would think that if this was book #1 of a series, she could at least clear that up for you.  I mean it is the title of the book after all!!!  To be honest, you really don’t know what this book is about.  When I say plot holes I mean it.  This book starts nowhere and ends nowhere.  The characters are typical and weak and annoying after five minutes.  She gives you vague descriptions about Scotland, England and Hong Kong.  No point in using your imagination with this book.  There isn’t enough information provided to form an image in your head.  As you read, you secretly hope Hollywood does not pick this book up because there isn’t an actress, screenwriter, director or cast that can salvage this story. I think the only reason I was able to finish the book was because it was an audible version.  There is no way I could have finished it if it was in paper form (I would have demanded my money back if I bought the book, it isn’t good enough for donation).  The narrator was … how should I say … Despicable Me EHH Mediocre at best?  Nothing spectacular about the narrator.  I don’t even think the narrator liked the book. Kanye West Shrug I would not recommend this book to anyone.  As a matter of fact I would re-read the whole Fallen series 10 times in a row and praise it before I even want to remember that I read this book (we all know how much I loved that book series.  Insert deadpan look).  Want a good read about this book, go to Goodreads and read all the reveiws already posted and then wonder what book the people read that rated Seeker  4 stars and above. My rating is .5 stars for effort.

half-star
The following two tabs change content below.
The earliest movie Kristina can remember watching is “The Neverending Story”. It was all downhill from there. She then watched any movie she could from old black-n-white, classic musicals to the current movies coming out. While other kids were outside playing, Kristina could be found watching movies over and over and over again, experiencing new things each time she watched them, memorizing lines and acting out the scenes. She loves everything about them from the directing, set & costume design, acting and foundtrack/film score. Her favorite genres are B-movies, British films and other foreign films.

Tags:

Subscribe to our mailing list

Don't miss a thing! Subscribe to our email newsletter and be notified when we post something new.

* Required field

5 responses to “Audiobook Review: Seeker by Arwen Elys Dayton (Seeker, #1)

  1. I’m’ glad you’re back! I almost picked this one up recently, so I was eager to hear what you thought. Hopefully your next book is better, although I do enjoy reading your scathing reviews! 🙂

  2. I’d like to say I’m shocked, but Kristina, EVERY SNGLE REVIEW I read said the same thing. Well, minus the Fallen reference, lol, but I do get where you’re coming from. I was so excited about this, and then the reviews started rolling in and I realized that my excitement, like the rumors about Mark Twain’s death, was greatly exaggerated. So in the end I didn’t buy it. Loving your review <3
    Ramona’s latest thoughts >> Happy Easter! (Zen Monday)

  3. I’ve seen so many reviews exactly like this…I wanted this when it was first announced but as soon as everyone said they had no clue what was going on the entire time, i just crossed it out. I couldn’t even make it through Fallen and I was listening to it…so kudos on being able to read that entire trainwreck. Glad you’re back!
    Michelle @ In Libris Veritas’s latest thoughts >> Review: The Queen of the Tearling by Erika Johanson

Leave a Reply